The Second Warwick 4am Project

19 Nov

Today I’m excited, as in just under 12 hours I will be taking part in the second Warwickshire 4am Project.

What’s a 4am project?

Well I’m glad you asked. The 4am Project was started by Birmingham-based photographer and creative-type Karen Strunks  in 2008 after a night out brought about a realisation:

After a night out a while back, I was driving from one side of the city to the other. It was around 4am and I was really struck by the cityscape. Streets and roads normally teeming with people and traffic were deserted. The city was asleep and it felt like I had it all to myself. I liked it. – Taken from the 4am Project site

Since 2008 the project has truly become global with the idea of photographing the seldom-seen world of 4am capturing people’s imaginations! I’d highly recommend spending time looking at the gallery on the 4am Project site

I first got involved in organising a Warwickshire 4am project following a tweet from my dear friend Sasha Taylor who was keen to organise one in Warwick and on the 29th May a small group of photographers met to take pictures of St John’s House museum in the town and a good time was had by all.

I should make it clear that I’m not personally a photographer, I like taking pictures but this in no more makes me a photographer than owning a pair of Dr Dre Headphones makes you a hip-hop mogul. For me the draw of the 4am project is two-fold:

  1. There is something intoxicating about sharing time with people who are passionate about their chosen artform. I remember looking round at the last event and feeling both happy and proud to have been involved in something that gave all these brilliant people access to a totally unique experience; and
  2. It’s about the experience; I love old buildings, the way they are infused with history that seems to whisper and echo down the ages and the opportunity to have access to such buildings at a time few others will ever see, for me, is truly magical! (For more thoughts on this see: On Learning to Read Stone)

So after the first 4am Project in Warwick we were keen to organise another one, but as the lyrics go ‘life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans’ and it’s fair to see until a few weeks ago we weren’t much closer to securing a venue…then enter stage left Nivi Morales who wanted to help us organise another one and with the brilliant matchmaking of Glynis Powell had already found us a venue and wow, what a venue it is!

Tomorrow morning at 4am, thanks to the kind support of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, the second Warwick 4am Project will be taking place at Shakespeare’s Birthplace in the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon! I can’t begin to even put into words, as a writer, poet and lover of literature, just how excited this makes me! I’m heartened by the huge response we’ve had from people and the amount of fantastic photographer that will be present there later. There are only 2 tickets left, so if you’re reading this and thinking ‘why am I not going to that’ then head over to our Eventbrite page and book yourself a ticket!

You can find out more information here:

Warwick 4am Project Home

You should Follow on Twitter:

@Sasha_Taylor

@Nivi_MS

@Paulcoxon81

@ShakespeareBT

@mdoness

@KarenStrunks

All of us organising the Warwick 4am Project are feeling a massive and equal amount of love and gratitude for The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, the work they do is truly amazing in preserving some of the most important history this country has to offer. We highly recommend visiting the Trust Website and their amazing buildings if you’re ever in Stratford.

One Response to “The Second Warwick 4am Project”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #warwick4amproject got our Shakespeare on. « Paul Coxon's moments - November 20, 2011

    […] #warwick4amproject got our Shakespeare on. 20 Nov Despite claims this morning to the contrary, I have not temporarily evolved beyond the reach of sleep so this is the post I started this morning on getting home from the Shakespeare’s birthplace (If you want to read more on the background see: The 2nd Warwick 4am Project.) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

