Without You, I’d leave aborted poem-foetus on the doorsteps of random strangers

6 Jun

MADNESS


We poets in our youth begin in gladness,

But thereof comes in the end despondency and madness

–          William Wordsworth

I am afraid to joyfully dig so deep
(Until the voices sing me to sleep)
But I am suddenly faced with choices
(I am aware of different voices)
At night, with the voices at their most bright
Slip into sleep, sheep into fright.
I feel the tightening of elastic,
Smell slow burn rubber,
Taste the word: ‘snap’
In sanity, like the sea, laps
At introvert, infidel shores
 Below me, madness hangs in stasis
Whilst, I dig around in gladness
Taste happiness and flee from trouble
Waiting to burst that bubble.

 A Song and A Dance

You make the atoms in my bones dance in their spaces

I shake, judder, like an express train. Believe me

The atoms in my bones are dancing in their spaces.

My insect heart, tiny life drumming

its fast metabolic rate in my ear. We couldn’t

make love. I would miss you by lifetimes.

Too quick for a courtship lasting centuries.

Broken down to atoms dancing in my bones by the look

in your eyes. Like the light at the birthing party for stars.

This is longing

Unfixed

As an explosion

Tearing

Through words like fire, breaking everything down

to shaking ash. We have to start at this collapse,

Inorganic

Lives without language – mountains and rivers,

coalescing before language creeps over like foliage

We carry our atoms like memories and when we meet

The atoms in my bones are dancing in their spaces,

Uncrowded by deliberation of slower things.

4 Responses to “Without You, I’d leave aborted poem-foetus on the doorsteps of random strangers”

  1. Nicola Davies (@NicDaviesUley) June 7, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    Song & dance, reads like space dust popping on my tongue. (and made me so hyper that wordpress told me to slow down! seriously). 🙂

    Like

    • paulcoxon81 June 7, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      Wow that is quite a compliment 🙂 and most kind. Thanks x

      Like

  2. celenagaia33 October 19, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

    “I would miss you by lifetimes / Too quick for a courtship lasting centuries.”

    God yes, this. Without wanting to go all Timetraveller’s wife on it, I have an inkling of a belief in love lasting through lifetimes.

    “Lives without language – mountains and rivers,
    coalescing before language creeps over like foliage”
    This too, caught me – more by the combination of imagery and alliteration (who doesn’t love a bit of that, and onomatopoeia?) They hinge well on one another, creating a flow throughout. Love the natural-world references in particular; nothing is overblown.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Branches, Seagull, Infinite Storms, Lancelot and Guinevere « Paul Coxon's moments - June 9, 2012

    […] Without You, I’d leave aborted poem-foetus on the doorsteps of random strangers […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

