The Relentless Tick-Tock of Time

13 Jun

We met a guy in his 80’s who was climbing Ben Nevis the same time we were for my best mate’s stag weekend. We got talking and he told us he had both his knees replaced, only 1 kidney and had fought and beaten Cancer 3 times. Somewhat concerned for his wellbeing, we asked why he was climbing this mountain and not taking it easy. He scoffed that this would be his twelth summit, but Nevis was small compared to the other mountains that he had climbed, we were impressed. He went on and what he said next will stay with me the rest of my days: do you know what it’s like to get to 60, nearly die and look back over a life where you haven’t done enough? So much lost time, I’m not wasting another second of it, if I die on this mountain or any other then so be it…

I’ve never been one for wearing watches.

I’ve been bought some lovely watches over the years but, aside from fleeting appearances, I’ve rarely ever worn them.

I’ve never wanted to feel beholden to time. I don’t know what it is, I just don’t like time that much, never have. Yes, I realise this is ludicrous as we are temporal beings, living lives governed by the passage of times.

I wake up to an alarm in a morning during the week, it’s 6:30, cats fed. it’s 6:35, in shower, it’s 6.50 I’m getting dressed, 6:55 I’m finding new and ingenious ways of ingesting caffeine, then debating why the don’t make a stronger type and it’s 7:10, I’m waiting for a bus…meetings today, scheduled, to times. interuptions…

Wandering Giants once well fed now slimming down and slow, political…Time’s lost. I’ts Five PM…

Tick -Tock

Tick-Tock

Just recently I’ve started to really feel the passage of time, it’s presence, taunting, I’m not exceeding my own expectations! Need to be doing more, something. Tick-Tock kinda want to be great, giants will improve become more graceful over time Tick-Tock but looking for something more immediate.

…and yes, I realise this is called existential angst and will pass, just odd, never really been more aware of the passage of time than right now. This is an affirmation. I need to do more. I want to look back and say I’ve done great things, good things and lots of things, I want to leave marks, lots of them…I waste too much time.

I need to do more!

I’m going back to ignoring time as much as I can hoping he gets bored and leaves me alone.

Tick-Tock

Sometimes I feel that life is passing me by, not slowly either, but with ropes of steam and spark-spattered wheels and a hoarse roar of power or terror.  It’s passing, yet I’m the one who’s doing all the moving.  ~Martin Amis, Money

These are my thoughts, if you don’t like them, I’ve got some others…

Leave a Reply

