My dirty little secret…

17 Jul

No, not that…

This:

If you added together the time played on each of my multiple World of Warcraft (WoW) characters, it would total more than 230 days…

There, I said it.

If ever there was a number not to be proud of, it’s that. Of my 30 years of life, over half a year of precious time was spent immersed in a virtual world of Dragons, Giants and eternal wars. Here are three random things I learned playing WoW:

  • Getting 40 normal people to do anything that requires any form of simultaneous, strategic coordination is next to impossible.
  • Guilds, the player-led social organisations within the game, are inevitably torn apart by raging and conflicting egos, petty politics and in-fighting; and
  • Somehow, the evil geniuses at Blizzard had managed to digitise crystal meth and have it delivered on the back of Photons directly to the eyeballs.

So there it is, my dirty little secret, I love games and have done since my very first Commodore Amiga. I keep thinking that maybe I’ll grow out of it but it doesn’t look likely. I imagine, if you combine the times I’ve spent playing other games (most recently Skyrim) I would bet the 230 days starts to look more like a year, perhaps even more. So, so proud…

I’ve reviewed some games for the Fortean Times and here are a sample:

Fortean Times: Darkness Within 2 Review

Fortean Times: World of Warcraft – Wrath of the Lich King Review

Fortean Times: Jade Empire Review

Happy to review more XBox 360 titles if anyone wants to send me any to review, at least you know I’ll put the hours in.

Here’s the definition of shameless self-promotion.

For anyone wondering: my main character was Foxenigma, Night Elf Warrior, on Arathor EU Server. I was in thr Guilds The Murder of Crows, The Brotherhood of Steel amd Azeroth’s Paradox.

4 Responses to “My dirty little secret…”

  1. Writer Jobs July 18, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writer Jobs Available

    Like

  2. Michaël January 8, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

    Cant believe i ran across your post due tot googling BoS EU, i used to be one of your guildies in Ye old vanilla. Played a warrior named Michaël aka Vidi. Hope everythings well pal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • paulcoxon81 January 8, 2016 at 8:00 pm #

      Hey Michael I remember you, good times. Just took a look myself at the BoS roster and lots of names I remember from back in the day. I’m not too bad, thanks, how are you? Do you still play WoW at all?

      Like

      • Michaël January 14, 2016 at 4:06 pm #

        On and Off lately tbh the last expac was at best Mediocre, did get some high end raiding done in mists, and managed a few server first. Might go back in Legion, seems to be shaping up nicely, and it’s cheaper then hanging at my local :). Hope all is well at your side aswell

        Like

Leave a Reply

